Situated halfway between Pwllheli and Abersoch, connected to the former, by a long stretch of sand and shingle beach and tucked away beneath its headland, in a sylvan environment, sits the delightful village of Llanbedrog.
Owned by the National Trust, the beach, with its brightly coloured beach huts, sheltered position and safe bathing, is a delight for those seeking a picture postcard setting.
At the end of the beach, a track leads through a wooded glen, climbing gently to the top of the headland, Mynydd Tir-Y- Cwmwd, with stunning views across Cardigan Bay, towards the Snowdonia peaks and across the Lleyn. A huge Tin Man statue stands at the summit.
Back in the village, the impressive Plas Glyn-Y-Weddw art gallery awaits.
Originally a dower house built in 1856, to a gothic design, with an equally impressive interior, the house now shows regularly changing contemporary Welsh art.
Just outside the entrance to Glyn-Y-Weddw stands Llanbedrog’s parish church St Pedrog, named after the 6th century saint, parts of which date back to the 13th century, and firmly placed on the Pilgrims Way. During the civil war, it is said that Oliver Cromwell used the church as stables and his troops caused damage to a medieval glass window; shards of which now make up the east window.
Llanbedrog is an ideal base for visitors to the Lleyn peninsula, it is a paradise for beach and water sports lovers, has a beautiful setting, lovely walks and all everyday necessities are catered for within the village. Llanbedrog is one of the gems of the Lleyn and well worth discovering and exploring.